Scientific Committee Statement 

A key role for the WOPM Scientific Committee is the responsibility for the scientific programme of the workshops. This includes evaluating submitted abstracts, selecting contributions for talks and poster presentations and together with the relevant local organising committee decide the final workshop programme. The evaluation of the contributions is based on scientific merit and novelty with a keen interest to ensure diversity and promote the meeting as a forum for early career researchers.

The Committee may choose to select a number of talks for slightly longer presentations based on the scientific assessment and in the interest of balancing the meeting by highlighting the diversity of the field.

It is a sign of the strength and health of the field that the OPM technology is being translated into commercial products. WOPM is first and foremost a scientific meeting reporting on the scientific developments in sensor technology and applications. Contributions from the commercial sector are welcome at WOPM and will be treated and evaluated as contributions to a scientific meeting.


Scientific Program Committee 

  • Peter Schwindt (Chair, Sandia National Laboratories)
  • Svenja Knappe (University of Colorado & Fieldline Inc)
  • Tetsuo Kobayashi (Kyoto University)
  • Lauri Parkkonen (Aalto University & MEGIN)
  • Erling Riis (University of Strathclyde)
  • Tilmann Sander (PTB Berlin)
  • Arne Wickenbrock (Helmholtz Institute Mainz)
  • Dong Sheng (University of Science and Technology of China)
  • Robert Wyllie (Georgia Tech Research Institute)

Local Organizing Committee 

  • n.n.
  • n.n.
  • n.n.